Skip to main content

About Us


    Monday - Friday

    11 am - 6 pm

    9372 State Hwy 75 S New Waverly, TX 77358



    The New Waverly Public Library serves all citizens of the community by offering services, resources, and facilities to fulfill their informational, educational, and recreational needs and interests. The term "citizens" encompasses individuals and groups of every age, education, philosophy, occupation, economic level, ethnic origin, and human condition.

    The idea for a town library was born from the dream of Marie Underwood, a long-time English teacher and former principal of New Waverly High School. Always a lover of books and education, Mrs. Underwood gathered the support of like-minded individuals and blessings from the New Waverly City Council to move into two small rooms in City Hall. Besides free rent, the City Fathers provided free utilities. From the library’s incorporation on December 18, 1987, the community immediately came to its support. Donated books soon filled the shelves while volunteers stepped in serve the patrons. Our school district provided financial assistance of $2,500, and the Houston Area Library System provided equipment. All other costs were met through fundraising. It was not long before the library outgrew its home. Justice of the Peace John Pasket stepped up to lead the library to a new dream: its own building. Ron Kolb became the architect of the dream. With Mr. Kolb as Project Coordinator, the building began to take shape. Hundreds of hours of volunteer labor, as well as materials, were donated by citizens throughout Walker County and beyond. Judge Pasket led the fundraising efforts with the help of a group called Friends of the Library. In June of 2000, a groundbreaking ceremony took place at the new site on I-75 South. Plans included a community room that could be rented for events. The room quickly became a hub of activities, which included showers, meetings, parties, and even church services. On March 10, 2008, the doors to the ‘new’ New Waverly Public Library opened for business with a ribbon-cutting ceremony where Mrs. Esther Underwood (the sister-in-law to Mrs. Marie Underwood, who was now deceased) cut the ribbon. Those who were present looked on with pride at the beauty and welcoming atmosphere of the 10,000-square-foot building. In August of 2008, Mrs. Betty Smith, our Director for 20 years, asked to step down. Mrs. Becky Powell, an active library volunteer, went on to hold Mrs. Smith's former position for over 7 years. In 2016, Mrs. Kameron Sutton, who was been an active library volunteer since 2010, became the new Director. Mrs. Kameron Sutton stepped down from her Director position in February of 2019. In May of 2019, Mrs. Ralynn Frost became the new Director of the library. Mrs. Ralynn Frost has been a volunteer for years and an assistant to Mrs. Sutton prior to being promoted to Director. As of the spring of 2023, Mrs. Chanel Maybin, former Children's Librarian and long-term volunteer, currently serves as the library's Director. The library is 90% staffed by 15 volunteers who keep the library open 35 hours a week. Currently, the library receives some financial assistance from the New Waverly ISD (who let us build on school land) and the City of New Waverly. Forty to fifty percent of the budget is raised by volunteers. The library is truly a beautiful building, fully equipped with materials, computers, and hundreds of books. Please excuse our pride, but we know this dream belongs to all who put their hard work, time, resources, and love into it. Come see us, and you will understand.
  • « February 2024 »
    Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
    28 29 30 31 1 2 3
    4 5 6 7 8 9 10
    11 12 13 14 15 16 17
    18 19 20 21 22 23 24
    25 26 27 28 29 1 2